Opinion

Most lanes remain closed at the Peace Arch border crossing into the U.S. from Canada, where the shared border has been closed for nonessential travel in an effort to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, Thursday, May 7, 2020, in Blaine, Wash. The restrictions at the border took effect March 21, while allowing trade and other travel deemed essential to continue. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)

OPINION: Why trade restrictions must be eliminated during 2nd wave of COVID-19

Nearly 100 countries enacted temporary restrictions or bans on the export of medical products this year

  • Oct 8, 2020
STEM (Pixabay.com)

OPINION: Stop telling students to study STEM over humanities for post-COVID world

‘Humanities play an essential role in aspects of global competence which have not been the focus of the STEM’

File Photo.

Whibbs: Exciting opportunities bring bittersweet goodbyes

Kaylyn Whibbs’ last column for the Sylvan Lake News and Eckville Echo

File Photo.
Editor of the Pipestone Flyer, Shaela Dansereau

DANSEREAU: A statue is not history

Opinion: A statue is not history

Editor of the Pipestone Flyer, Shaela Dansereau
A empty classroom is pictured at Eric Hamber Secondary school in Vancouver, B.C. Monday, March 23, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

How to help your child cope with the transition back to school during COVID-19

Experts say listening and validating your child’s fears is key

A empty classroom is pictured at Eric Hamber Secondary school in Vancouver, B.C. Monday, March 23, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
video
Fans support Rebels
Stop spreading COVID-19, don’t infect parents and elders, top doctor tells youth

Stop spreading COVID-19, don’t infect parents and elders, top doctor tells youth

The 20-to-39 age group accounts for 60 per cent of recent cases

  • Jul 24, 2020
Stop spreading COVID-19, don’t infect parents and elders, top doctor tells youth
Lacombe Author Barbara A. Glasier recently released her first book – “A Critical Human Error: When Paternity Is Not a Choice”. (Photo submitted)

BOOK REVIEW: Lacombe author pens first novel “A Critical Human Error”

Barbara A. Glasier’s book touches on family, childhood innocence and redemption

Lacombe Author Barbara A. Glasier recently released her first book – “A Critical Human Error: When Paternity Is Not a Choice”. (Photo submitted)
WHIBBS: Looking for: Puppy in need of forever home

WHIBBS: Looking for: Puppy in need of forever home

‘I probably don’t need a puppy, but I am always willing to open my door to one in need’

WHIBBS: Looking for: Puppy in need of forever home
Pam Hansen/WCPS Board Chair

COLUMN: WCPS looking ahead and preparing for 2020-21 school year

‘We have wrapped up certainly an unprecedented and challenging school year’

Pam Hansen/WCPS Board Chair
Todd Colin Vaughan/Lacombe Express Editor

VAUGHAN: Ending systemic racism is on everyone

Privilege in society cannot come at the expense of of our neighbours

Todd Colin Vaughan/Lacombe Express Editor
A view of Hudson Bay Mountain Resort and surroundings near Smithers, B.C., on Monday, Sept. 3, 2018. The trail makes for a bracing hike to Crater Lake (unseen). THE CANADIAN PRESS/Colin Perkel

COLUMN: Canada needs to remember rural communities as thoughts turn to pandemic recovery

Small towns often rely on tourism, which has been decimated by COVID-19

  • May 28, 2020
A view of Hudson Bay Mountain Resort and surroundings near Smithers, B.C., on Monday, Sept. 3, 2018. The trail makes for a bracing hike to Crater Lake (unseen). THE CANADIAN PRESS/Colin Perkel
WHIBBS: Taking steps to become an adultier adult

WHIBBS: Taking steps to become an adultier adult

“We are all on different paths as we try to navigate our way through life”

WHIBBS: Taking steps to become an adultier adult
ROTH: Falling into old patterns

ROTH: Falling into old patterns

Megan Roth writes a regular column about life and pop culture

ROTH: Falling into old patterns
(Black Press file photo)

LETTER: Alberta physician compensation

‘Doctors have agreed that, with the tough economic times, changes need to be made’

(Black Press file photo)
Todd Colin Vaughan/Lacombe Express Editor

VAUGHAN: Hairstylists and barbers shouldn’t be in phase one of Alberta relaunch plan

Impossibility of social distancing means more government protocols, access to PPE needed

Todd Colin Vaughan/Lacombe Express Editor
Vandriel: Boys and Badlands

Vandriel: Boys and Badlands

Caroline Vandriel writes a monthly column discussing her latest read

Vandriel: Boys and Badlands
ROTH: Waving the white flag: Keeping a clean home

ROTH: Waving the white flag: Keeping a clean home

Megan Roth writes a semi-regular column about life and pop culture

ROTH: Waving the white flag: Keeping a clean home
LETTER: Our continued commitment to help keep residents informed and communities strong

LETTER: Our continued commitment to help keep residents informed and communities strong

London Drugs: We are continuing our commitment to print our flyers and distribute them

  • Apr 30, 2020
LETTER: Our continued commitment to help keep residents informed and communities strong
File Photo.

WHIBBS: Revisiting an old love to pass the time

Using a previously read series and encouragement to re-spark a love of reading

File Photo.