Lacombe County Councillor Dana Kriel reelected by acclamation

Lacombe County Councillor Dana Kriel reelected by acclamation

Kriel and three other councillors were unopposed in their divisions.

Dana Kriel, Division Seven Councillor with Lacombe County will be staying on for another four year.

As of noon on Nomination Day, Sept. 18, no other names were brought in as a candidate for the division seven seat.

Three other councillors have been reelected by acclamation as well; Brenda Knight – Division Two, Barb Shepard – Division Three and Paula Law – Division Four.

There are two candidates each in divisions one, five and six

Incumbent Division One Councillor Rod McDermand will be running for council again, against John Ireland.

Ken Wigmore, Division Five councillor is running for reelection, and Denise Sumner has also added her name to the race.

Councillor Keith Stephenson is running for reelection for Division Six. Along with Stephenson, Robert Szasz has also added his name to the race.

The candidate list isn’t official until noon on Sept. 19. This is the time allowed for a candidate to withdraw their name from the race.

More information about the election, along with polling information can be found at

Advanced polls for Lacombe County is Oct. 2, and election day is Oct. 16.